The Distance of Life – Jeremy Beck


The way things are
Is how it should be
And I wouldn’t change it
Even if I could
I may not fully understand it
But I believe God’s ways
Are better by far

What hurts the most
Is this feeling inside
That I can’t see you
And tell you about my day
I know you’re healed
And I’m happy for you
But the distance
It just seems to weigh me down

All I want is
A happy ending for us all
Where we’re all together with the Lord
And I know it’s coming
But for now, what separates you and I
Is the distance of life

So right now
I’ll hold on to those promises
That I believed in so long ago
That God’s coming for us
And we’ll all be together again one day
With no more sorrow
And no more pain
And no more good-bye’s

Even though I can see it on the horizon
Drawing closer all the time

All I want is
A happy ending for us all
Where we’re all together with the Lord
And I know it’s coming
But what separates you and I
Is the distance of life
For now

