The Good-bye Kiss


From time to time, I get the pleasure of taking my little girl to school. I put her in her car seat and off we go to the place where she gets to play with her friends and eat snacks. Our routine when we arrive is I free her her from the pink and orange car seat, she jumps down out of the car, and we walk up the steps together. After signing her in, I take her to her classroom and help her take off her jacket. Then I give her a hug and a kiss and tell her who will be picking her up that afternoon. We exchange “I love you”s and I head towards the door. As I am just about to the door, she calls out to me “Daddy!” I turn around and bend down to meet her as she comes running towards me. She looks at me and says, “One more kiss.” My heart melts as I wrap my arms around her and instantly grant her request that is really more mine than hers. I fear that one day these good-bye kisses will end, but for now, I gladly give those “one more kisses” and know that I am the most blessed man in the world.

